Restaurant Jargon / Restaurant Terminology
Restaurant Jargon / Restaurant Terminology
86’d:
When an item on the menu is unavailable for sale, it is referred to as 86’d. A
drunk customer or even an exhausted colleague, is also deemed to be 86’d.
À la, Au / Aux: French terms referring to
the style or manner of cooking, or what the dish is served with.
À la Carte: A type of menu where each item is separately
listed, described and priced.
À la Minut: Referring to a dish cooked to order.
Al Dente: Literally means “to the teeth / to the
bite”. The term is used when evaluating the correct degree of doneness of
dishes, particularly vegetables and pasta. It is considered just right when
biting into an item offers a slight resistance without being hard.
Al Fresco: Literally translated “in the fresh air”,
this term in the restaurant industry refers to outdoor dining spaces.
American Service: American style food
Service involves serving restaurant guests food that is pre-plated in the
kitchen itself. Table sauces, Bread & Butter, Salads etc. are usually
placed at the table. Possibly the only style of food service wherein service is
from the right side of the guest.
Amortise: When a business gradually writes off the
initial costs of its assets or repays its loan regularly over a period of time,
it is said to be amortising the capital costs or loan.
Angel Investor: An investor who provides
capital and sometimes even guidance to start-up businesses in return for a
shareholding or equity in the company. Considering the risk they take in first
time entrepreneurial ventures, they usually expect high returns. Referring to
them as “angels”, might just stem from the fact that they invest at a stage
prior to proof of
concept.
Apéritif: An alcoholic drink taken as an appetizer
before a meal.
Appetizer: A small portion of food or beverage taken
before a meal to stimulate the appetite.
Asset Register: A register that lists the
restaurant’s assets including land, building, machinery and equipment, their
purchase date, purchase price and a few details necessary to compute the
depreciation and tax on these items. It also helps keep track of smaller items
such as furniture, computers etc. and their physical condition during internal
audits conducted usually by the Finance and Accounts department.
ATL:
“Above the Line” refers to sales & marketing techniques that promote the
awareness of a brand through media channels including television, radio, print,
cinema, the internet, and even out-of-home mediums like billboards. Since the
agencies involved used to charge a commission when the phrase was created,
accountants back then categorised them as “operating expenses” and therefore
called them “above the line” costs.
Audit: An examination of stocks, systems or
processes such as inventory management, financial transactions, customer
experiences etc. with a view to correct or improve.
Average Bill per head: The total sales per day
divided by the total number of visitors that day.
B&B Plate: Bread and Butter Plate is
a 6 inch side plate placed to the left of the dinner plate. In a fine dining
restaurant, it would be used to place bread to be buttered and consumed. It is
also known as a quarter plate and in many cases side dishes or starters are
placed in it for consumption.
Back Burner: As putting a pot on the back burner implies
that it isn’t actively being attended to, just simmering; so also tasks put on
the back burner would be the ones that are low priority for the moment.
Back of the house: Usually consists of
office, kitchen, stores and pot-wash.
Bain-Marie: A water bath or double boiler that comprises
of 2 utensils: a smaller one placed inside a larger one with a liquid (usually
water) in between. It may be used for cooking custards, whipping mousses,
melting chocolate etc. or for keeping food warm as with chaffing dishes on
buffet counters or even in a cold version as in the case of a salad counter.
Barista: Italian for bartender, a Barista is a person
proficient in the art of preparing and pulling espresso-based and other
beverages at a coffee shop or any other type of restaurant.
BCG Matrix: A 4-quadrant tool for restaurant menu
engineering, named after a business consulting firm called the
Boston Consulting Group where its original avatar was first created. Each item
on the menu is mapped to 2 parameters: profitability and popularity. The
standardised recipe card provides us with details on profitability (selling
price less recipe cost) while the POS data provides us with the number of units
sold per dish, indicating its popularity.
1. Stars (High in Popularity
& High in Profitability) are the best menu items, ideally our signature
dishes to be up-sold.
2. Plowhorses (High in Popularity
& Low in Profitability), with their selling price slightly increased could
become stars, thus bettering business.
3. Puzzles (Low in Popularity
& High in Profitability) are difficult to sell, sometimes even if their
selling price is reduced. It may be worth considering altering these dishes,
whether by taste, presentation or name, with a view to enhancing their
popularity. If unsuccessful, treat as a dog.
4. Dogs (Low in Popularity
& Low in Profitability) are difficult to sell, and if sold, offer little
profit. Thus these are best eliminated from the menu.
Bev Nap: A “beverage napkin” which collects the
condensed droplets on a beverage glass. A small square napkin is either placed
on the table below the glass as a coaster or a long rectangular one wrapped
around the glass when offering to a guest.
Bill / Check: Item-wise total of purchases along with
service charge and taxes.
Biometrics: Verifying the individual biology of a human
being by measuring and authenticating his unique characteristics is known as
biometrics. They include finger prints, face recognition, voice recognition,
DNA, iris recognition and even blind tests for odour. It is used in restaurants
to allow limited access to certain confidential data and at a more basic level
to authenticate the presence of a staff member on duty, which is then linked to
his salary disbursement, leave, etc.
Bistro: A small informal restaurant serving
slow-cooked food at moderate prices; meals along with wine.
Blast Chiller / Freezer: A blast chiller is a
commercial appliance, usually used by restaurants and catering companies to
rapidly cool down food from +70C to +3C or lower within around 90 minutes,
thereby rendering it safe for storage and future consumption. A blast freezer
does the same while taking the temperature down even further to -18C in around
240 minutes. Chilling wine or freezing ice cream very quickly are examples of
how it may be used.
BLT:
Bacon, Lettuce and Tomato sandwich made with mayonnaise, is amongst the popular
sandwiches in the US and UK.
BOGO:
“Buy one get one free” is a promotional offer at restaurants and other retail
businesses. For instance during lean hours at a restaurant, you may offer a
free pint of beer for every pint bought.
BOQ:
The Bill of Quantities is an itemized statement of the cost components,
including materials and labour, of a project during construction. It serves as
the basis of comparison for competitive bids between aspiring contractors and
also a frame of reference to measure actual itemized costs and quantities
versus those budgeted.
Boulangerie: A French-style bakery that specialises in
baking and selling bread.
Bouquet Garni: An assortment of either
fresh or dried French herbs used to enhance the flavour of stocks, stews,
soups, casseroles and broths. They may either be wrapped inside a cheesecloth /
muslin sachet and then placed in the stock, or simply tied together and placed
in it directly. Bouquet Garni typically includes Bay leaf, Parsley, Rosemary,
Thyme and Peppercorn. At times, vegetables like carrots, celery, leeks and
onions are also included.
Bottom Line: Profit / Loss which is the bottom item of a
profit & loss statement and the final outcome of importance to a business.
Breakeven: The point where the business expenses equal
the income generated, with neither profit nor loss.
Broth: A thin soup made from meat or fish stock.
BTL:
“Below the Line” refers to those sales & marketing techniques that are more
focused and measurable using mediums such as direct mailers, flyers,
telemarketing, stickers, point of sale brochures, exhibitions etc. Since no
commission was involved when the phrase was created, accountants back then
categorised them as “capital expenditure” and therefore called them “below the
line” costs.
Busboy / Busser: An assistant waiter who
helps lay out tables, clear dirty dishes and support the service experience,
usually with less direct guest contact than the waiter.
Business Model: The way in which an
organisation creates & delivers value to its customers and attracts them to
pay for that value, in a manner that results in a profit.
BYOB:
“Bring Your Own Bottle” is a restaurant policy that allows guests to bring
their own liquor. It is often subject to a fee / corkage.
CAC:
Customer Acquisition Cost, the cost of acquiring a new customer, is a metric
that every business owner or leader should know. Convincing each additional
customer about the value of your product and service involves initiatives in
research as well as sales & marketing. So for instance, if all these costs
add up to say 30,000/- for a certain period and you have acquired say 100 new
customers in that period, then your cost of acquiring each new customer i.e.
CAC will be 30000/100 = 300/-.
Café:
Synonymous with coffee shop, a café usually refers to a small restaurant where
snacks or light meals are served with drinks which may also include alcoholic
beverages.
CAGR:
Compounded Annual Growth Rate is a term representing the year-on-year growth of
a business investment over a specified period of time.
Cambro: A US based restaurant-ware company renowned
for its food & beverage storage containers which keep hot food hot and cold
food cold. Nowadays the word Cambro is often used synonymously with any brand
of plastic storage containers.
Cannibalization: It refers to the loss of a
restaurant’s market share in a particular catchment on account of a similar
offer coming up in that catchment, either by another outlet of the same brand
or by another brand altogether.
Capex: Capital expenditure is the amount spent
towards the procurement of assets that increase the capacity or efficiency of a
business for more than one accounting year. Assets including building,
equipment, vehicles etc.
Cash Flow: The movement of money into and out of a
business that affects its liquidity. It is a measure of financial efficiency.
Casual Dining: A restaurant which offers
a casual ambience and food at moderate prices where formal dressing is
unnecessary. Table service usually involves food being served either pre-plated
or on platters with or without a buffet option.
CCG:
Cutlery, Crockery, Glassware is easy to refer to in one cluster as CCG in the
Restaurant Business.
CDP / DCDP: Chef de Partie / Demi Chef de Partie is a chef in charge of a particular
section in the kitchen such as grills, sauces, etc. In standalone restaurants,
he may have a wider responsibility than handling just one section. He is the
third in-charge of the kitchen, the first being the head/executive chef and the
second being the sous/under chef.
Chaffing Dish: A dish of stainless steel
or silver with a heating device fitted below it to keep food warm over an
extended period of time, such as on a buffet.
Charcuterie: A charcuterie is a specialized store or a
space within a hotel dedicated to the cooking, curing and smoking of meats,
mainly pork as well as others including game meats, game birds, poultry, veal
and seafood. Products on offer are essentially served cold and usually include
sausages, pâtés, terrines, galantines, roulades etc.
Chaser: A drink that immediately follows another
drink. For instance a beer after a straight shot of hard liquor.
Chef’s Table: A table at a restaurant that offers an
exclusive meal experience to discerning guests, usually for a premium price. The
table is located either in the kitchen itself or right next to it, while the
chef prepares his culinary creations.
COD:
Cash On Delivery. Referring to payment terms agreed upon between vendor and
client.
COGs:
Cost of Goods sold. In the case of Food & Beverage for instance, it would
include not just the materials used to produce that particular category of food
& beverage, but also materials “consumed” through wastage, spoilage, theft
or complementaries, thereby allowing one to keep a tab on actual versus
budgeted COGs.
Combi-oven: A combination oven which offers three
cooking modes for a versatile range of cooking processes:
1. Convection mode – using dry
air for baking cookies, frying potato wedges or roasting chicken.
2. Steam mode – using moist air
for steaming vegetables or poaching fish.
3. Combination mode – using
both moist and dry air for stewing fruit or braising meat.
Commis: A junior kitchen assistant or apprentice who
performs the more basic tasks of food production in each section of the
kitchen, getting promoted from Commis III to Commis II and finally to Commis I,
before reaching a DCDP level.
Commissary: A kitchen facility where food is prepared
for distribution to multiple locations. It could be a centralised space where
food is partly prepared for a chain of restaurants where the final cooking is
completed. It may also be a place where food is entirely prepared and then
delivered, either to other eateries where it is sold, or directly to customers
as in a catering service.
Comp Off: A compensatory off given to a restaurant
employee for having worked on his holiday.
Comping: Comping a meal or dish means giving it free
or complimentary to a guest who may either be a regular patron, one of some
commercial importance to the establishment, or even one whose experience at our
restaurant has not been up to the mark.
Controlling interest: A shareholder who owns
over 50% of a company’s voting shares, may be deemed to have “controlling
interest” in the company. At times, when the shareholding may be even less than
50%, but the remaining shares are not actively voted, the shareholder may also
have effective control of the company.
Corkage: Restaurants that allow guests to bring their
own alcohol, may levy a charge called corkage for consuming liquor (originally
drawing the cork of each bottle of wine, now other liquor as well) bought “off
the restaurant premises”.
Cost of Capital: The minimum rate of return
an organisation must earn on its investment.
Cost-centre: A department within an organization which
does not contribute to its profits but instead only adds to its costs, is
called a cost-centre. In a restaurant for instance, departments like human
resources, marketing, accounts, IT and admin are examples of cost-centres since
they come with a cost attached, but don’t bring in any profit directly. Their
presence however, is pivotal to improving the efficiency of the organization at
large and boosting its productivity. Such “cost-centres” are therefore a
necessary part of the business.
Cover / Covers: Refers to (a) the table
setting laid out for a single guest or (b) the number of guests that can be
seated in the restaurant.
Cover Charge: A fixed charge levied for a place at a
table, in addition to the charge for food and beverage.
Creditor Days: A ratio that tells us how
many days on average it takes a company to pay for the goods or services it
buys. In the restaurant industry, depending on the terms we have finalised with
each of our vendors, we must make our payments. If a certain vendor allows us a
30 day credit period and we pay him late, say in 45 days, it will strain the
relationship. At the same time, paying up too early doesn’t allow us the use of
good cash flow for our working capital. Creditor Days = Trade Creditors / Cost
of Sales × 365 days. For example if in a certain period the restaurant owes its
vendors 9,00,000/- and our cost of sales for that period is 150,00,000/-, then
the debtor days of the restaurant will be = 9,00,000 / 150,00,000 × 365 days =
21.9 days.
Cross Contamination: The unintentional transfer
of bacteria or other micro-organisms through hands, clothes or kitchen tools
from a food or non-food source with harmful human effect.
Crumbing: In the kitchen, the term “crumbing” or
“breading” refers to coating a piece of wet food with a bread-like mixture such
as bread crumbs before cooking. In the restaurant, the term “crumbing” refers
to clearing the table of food crumbs between courses, with the help of a small
brush.
CTC:
Cost To Company is the total annual cost that a company incurs towards
retaining a particular employee. It includes all expenses which are a part of
the salary as well as perks and other hidden expenses which may not be a part
of the remuneration package. Ideally it should include the cost of items which directly
or indirectly go towards an employee’s gain such as training programs for
instance but not the cost of business-related expenses such as mobile phone
bills incurred to conduct the company’s business. This interpretation of CTC
varies from organisation to organisation.
Culinarian: A person who cooks or is associated with
culinary arts.
Damask: A reversible fabric used for table covers or
even curtains made of linen or silk with a pattern woven into it.
Dashboard Report: a management tool that
measures and presents critical data on the key business performance areas in a
summarised manner much like a car dashboard, so the management can quickly
respond with appropriate decisions.
Debtor Days: A ratio that tells us how many days on
average it takes a company to get paid for what it sells. In the restaurant
industry, though we get paid for dine-in sales by cash / credit card
immediately, delayed payments sometimes occur in party catering. Debtor Days =
Trade Debtors / Sales × 365 days. For example if a customer owes the restaurant
3,00,000/- and our sales for that period is 150,00,000/-, then the debtor days
of the restaurant at that time will be = 3,00,000 / 150,00,000 × 365 days = 7.3
days. In a restaurant business, since we don’t really need to offer credit to
anyone, “zero” debtor days would be ideal.
Delicatessen: Sometimes abbreviated to “deli”, a
delicatessen is a store that sells fine foods like cured meats, pickled
vegetables, artisan cheeses & ice creams, ethnic dips etc. to the luxury
market. Some delis also have a sit down restaurant section where sandwiches,
salads, cold pressed juices, rotisserie chicken, gourmet coffees etc. may be
served.
Depreciation: Writing off the value of an asset over the
period of its useful life.
Designated driver: To ensure a safe drive
home for his companions from a social event, one person elects to abstain from
alcohol himself. Some bars offer an incentive of free non-alcoholic beverages
to these “designated drivers” thereby encouraging social responsibility as well
as their own sales of liquor. These days, for everyone in the group to have
fun, designated drivers maybe simply be outsourced to a paid-for agency.
Due Diligence: The detailed investigation
of a business or person before transacting with them. For instance, you may
conduct legal, financial and operational due diligence of a business before you
consider buying that business or verifying facts about a certain individual
before entering into a contract with him.
EBITDA: Earnings Before Interest, Taxes, Depreciation
and Amortization.
EMI:
Equated Monthly Instalment is the method by which one can pay back their loan
in terms of both the principal as well as the interest amount.
English Service: A formal sort of food
service in which the host or hostess flamboyantly carves or portions out meat
or vegetable dishes on the platters in which they are served. Then the waiter
takes these platters around to first serve the guest of honour, followed by the
remaining guests.
Entrées: The course following the fish course in a
French classical menu. Generally well garnished and served with a gravy or
sauce.
Equity: Net worth of an organisation comprising of
paid up equity capital plus reserves and
surplus.
ERP:
Enterprise Resource Planning is a business management system which integrates
various activities of the business. In a restaurant, activities include Food
Production, Inventory Management, HR, Marketing, Finance & Accounts,
Customer Database etc.
ESOP: An
Employee Stock Option Plan is a method of compensating employees with shares of
the company rather than only a cash salary for their work. It encourages a
culture of loyalty and reduces the outgoing cash burden on the business. The
company typically buys back stocks from the employee only when he leaves or
retires. ESOPs also bring the advantage of reduced tax burdens.
EV:
Enterprise Value is a measure of a company’s value – often the theoretical
price in the event of a buyout. It considers not just the equity of the company
but also its debt (since the buyer will have to assume it) and its cash (which
the buyer will receive). Debt increases the buying cost of the company, while
cash reduces it. It is usually expressed as a multiple of either the Last
Twelve Months (LTM) Revenue or its EBITDA.
In highly mature markets like the US, restaurants may see a Median EV of say
0.9 to 2.1 times LTM Revenue or say 7.7 to 9.9 times LTM EBITDA, depending on
the type of restaurant: Fine Dining / Casual Dining / Quick Service etc.
(“Restaurant Industry Insights” – Duff &
Phelps). In less mature markets like India, which have much more
room for growth, EVs are often higher.
Exhaust: The ventilation system comprising of ducting
and exhaust fans that facilitate the inflow of fresh air and the outflow of hot
/ stale air.
Eyeballs: In a marketing context, eyeballs refers to
the number of people that will see the promotional material of your company
brand.
FAQs:
Frequently Asked Questions.
Feasibility Study: A tool that helps evaluate
the positive and negative aspects of a business opportunity, study the risks
and identify ways to mitigate them before committing an investment and take an
informed decision on its technical, social and financial viability.
FF&E: Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment. Movable
furniture and heavy equipment including tables, chairs, sideboards, computers,
refrigerators, cooking ranges, coffee machines, microwave ovens, food
processors, worktables, storage racks etc.
FIFO:
First-In, First-Out is a method of inventory management based on the premise
that goods bought first (first-in) are the goods sold first (first-out). This
is logical from the stores perspective in the case of perishable goods as well
as from the accounts perspective since during inflation it yields the best
value of closing inventory (the cost of goods bought first, thus cheapest,
correspond best with cost of goods sold first).
Financial Performance: A representation of the
monetary health of a company.
Fire it: Firing a certain dish or the entire order at
a particular table is a call for action to actually begin cooking those items
immediately. A server estimates the time within which a guest must be served
his food as well as the time it would take the kitchen to execute the order and
gives a “fire it” request accordingly.
Fit-out: An architectural term in regard to the act
of filling the raw shell of a space with a restaurant’s interiors including its
ducting, utilities, treatment of walls, floor & ceiling, ventilation,
lighting plumbing etc.
Float: A small sum of money set aside at the
beginning of a period for petty cash expenses.
Focus Group Discussions: A form of market research
where a small group of 8 to 10 people may be brought together and led by a
moderator to discuss their opinions, preferences, beliefs and attitudes towards
certain products or services, with a view to have a qualitative insight into a
small section of the brand’s target market.
Food Contamination: The unintended presence of
harmful substances (physical / chemical / biological) that can cause illnesses
such as food
poisoning.
Food Poisoning: An acute illness caused by
the consumption of contaminated food usually accompanied by vomiting, fever,
aches and even diarrhoea.
Footfall: The number of people frequenting a restaurant
or a specific locality, during a particular period of time. Visible footfall at
a particular location is often a key consideration in guesstimating possible
sales of a business when selecting that location for a start-up.
FQ1, FQ2, FQ3, FQ4: An accounting period of 12
months is broken down into 4 Fiscal Quarters with the business performance
measured for each quarter. The fiscal year maybe Jan-Dec, Apr-Mar or otherwise.
Franchise: A business scaling up technique where the
learnings from one unit can successfully be used to grow the brand to multiple
units. The concept owner is the franchisor, while the entity investing in the
brand is the franchisee. The franchisor earns a one-time fee or royalty from
the franchisee for use of the brand name and guidance on the business. The
franchisor also earns an ongoing percentage of sales and profit for on-going
training and support given to the franchisee.
French Press: Also known as a “plunger pot”, this coffee
brewing device may occasionally be used as a tea infuser as well. Coarsely
ground coffee is left to steep with water for a few minutes after which it is
pushed to the bottom of the device using the plunger. A French Press brings out
great flavour in a beverage, but the water needs to be exceedingly hot for the
drink to be perfectly satisfying. French pressed coffee or tea left to stand
for beyond a few minutes turns bitter and is best consumed soon after pressing
the plunger.
French Service: Food salvers are first
placed on the guest table. The finishing of the partly cooked food may be done
by the waiter on a cart near the dining table itself right before the guest.
Then the salvers are returned to the table and the guests help themselves.
Front of the house: Guest visible areas
including the lobby, dining room and show kitchen if any.
Garde Manger: In French, it translates “keep to eat”.
Essentially a part of the cold kitchen, this section covers pantry items such
as soups, salads, sandwiches, sauces, condiments, cheeses, sausages, pâtés,
terrines, pickled foods and even ice carvings.
GN Pan: Gastronorm Pans are food storage containers
used in the food service industry. They are made from food grade stainless
steel, polycarbonate or polypropylene.
Goodwill: Often used synonymously with reputation of a
business, from an accounting perspective, the goodwill of a business refers to
the value of its intangible assets. Typically the future economic benefits of a
business are computed using its present popularity and existing profits as an
indicator of its valuation.
Gourmand: A person whose love for food and beverage
edges into over-indulgence or gluttony.
Gourmet: A person who cultivates a discerning palate
for the appreciation of good food and beverage. At times, an “excessive
refinement” borders on elitism.
Grease Trap: A plumbing device that intercepts grease
such as waste oil and fat present in sinks, dishwashers and cooking equipment
and traps it before it blocks the municipal sewer system.
Griddle: A flat (usually circular) metal surface on
top of a stove on which food is cooked.
Gueridon Service: An interactive and
flamboyant form of restaurant service where food is prepared on a well equipped
trolley or small table in full view of the guest, right next to his table and
served to him directly.
HACCP: Hazard Analysis & Critical Control Point
is a system that monitors the production, storage and distribution of food with
a view to identify and control contamination that could lead to health hazards.
High Street: The commercial centre of a city where shops
and institutions are located. In the restaurant context it refers to an
independent location where potential guests conducting their business just
outside the restaurant doors are likely to step in and patronize the
restaurant. Since it is positioned directly on the street, it is less
influenced by the success or failure of another business. Many consider it more
desirable than a store-in-store location,
particularly for a startup wishing to start their brand with a clean slate.
Holding time (food): The amount of time you can
hold a dish after it is prepared, until the time it may be served without
compromising on the quality & safety of the food. It also applies to the
holding of raw food. Whether you are holding raw food or cooked food, ideal
hold temperature plays a crucial role in food safety of the dish.
Holding time (table): The amount of time you can
hold a booked table for a late guest, from his reservation time till the time
you need to release that table to another guest.
House Brand: An item of merchandise declared by an
establishment as preferred for its guests and usually offered at a bargain
price. For instance, a house brand of wine at a restaurant is one either chosen
from those available in the market, or then one especially made in-house for
them.
HR:
Human Resources. A company’s deployable assets in terms of manpower.
HVAC:
Heating, Ventilating and Air-Conditioning are crucial to the environmental
comfort and operational ease of the Restaurant and its Kitchen.
In-Depth Interviews: A qualitative market
research interview with a single respondent, to detect her motivations,
attitudes and thoughts on the subject of study.
In-house restaurant: A restaurant situated
within a larger establishment such as a hotel or corporate office. Unlike
a stand-alone
restaurant, support functions are shared with the parent
organisation.
In the weeds: A restaurant team member’s plea of being
snowed-over with so much work, that it’s hard to keep up.
Ingress/Egress: The right to enter a
property such as a restaurant, is referred to as ingress. A guest who has
created an issue in the past for instance, may be denied ingress to the
restaurant. The right to leave a property such as a restaurant, is referred to
as egress. A guest who is creating an issue in the present may be denied egress
from the restaurant.
Inorganic Growth: A business plan that
involves accelerated growth by merging with or acquiring other businesses is
referred to as inorganic growth. Such growth can bring new ideas into the
business and also allow quick access to new markets.
IRR:
Internal Rate of Return is a budgeting tool to evaluate the attractiveness of
return on capital investment in a certain project. It is the annualised effective
compounded return rate that makes the Net Present Value of all cash flows from
that investment, equal to zero. If the IRR of a project is higher than the
return any other investment opportunities offer, then it is desirable to go
ahead with the undertaking.
Intellectual Property (IP): An intangible asset of
human knowledge that is patented or copyrighted as property of the person or
organisation who has commissioned or funded the research of such an endeavour.
Examples may include the creation of a particular brand-name, a certain
formula, a process design innovation, a newly invented piece of equipment, a
fresh body of work etc. On account of the value attached to the creation of
this distinctive information, it is considered ethical for parties exposed to
such information, to keep it a secret. They are often asked to sign a
Non-Disclosure Agreement (NDA) with the IP owner as protection from plagiarism.
Julienne: A knife technique which involves cutting
vegetables into thin, even-sized matchsticks. Salads, fries and garnishes often
call for a Julienne cut.
JV: A
Joint Venture is a contractual arrangement between two or more parties agreeing
to create a new business entity by contributing equity, exercising control over
the enterprise and sharing profits or losses over a finite period of time.
Key Money: In parts of a city where the rent act
restricts escalation in rentals, landlords protect themselves by collecting
additional money from prospective tenants who would like to secure, modify or
renew their tenancy. It is usually paid by way of a deposit of some months
rent, often in cash. While in some instances it is refundable and stated to
cover non-payment of rent or damage to property, it is often taken as
non-refundable to cover cleaning and repairs. Key Money is illegal in many
countries and so though some refer to it as “goodwill” to protect landlords
from below market rentals, others say it is simply a bribe that landlords
extract from tenants.
Kill it: Cooking a dish extra-well to the point of
almost being burnt. For instance, a guest who emphatically insists that his
steak not be the slightest bit pink and wants it really well-done, might be a
candidate for his server telling the kitchen that the dish be cremated (till
there’s not the slightest bit of life left in it).
Kitchen steward: One who supports the
kitchen staff by keeping all kitchen areas, equipment and utensils clean and
sanitised. Apart from cleaning pots and pans, a kitchen steward would also be
responsible for clearing the debris from serviceware including cutlery,
crockery and glasses and washing them thereafter.
LCV / CLV: Lifetime Customer Value / Customer Lifetime
Value is an assessment of the financial value of a customer to an organization
through the entire period of their association.
Example 1: A customer spends 100/- on each visit, visits once a month and is
transferred to another city after 2 years. This customers lifetime spend will
be = 100/- × 1 time × 24 months = 2,400/-.
Example 2: A customer spends 100/- on each visit twice a month and continues
being a customer for 5 years. This customers lifetime spend will be = 100/- × 2
times × 60 months = 12,000/-.
Clearly, all customers are not built equal. (Some customers may even refer you
to new ones, without you spending any money in acquiring them). We must also
consider the customers that leave. Let’s say that out 100 new customers you
acquire in a particular month, 5 leave. So the churn rate is 5% per month. This
means that the “lifetime” of your customer will be 1 / 0.05 = 20 months.
LCV = (Average spend per month × Gross Margin %) / Churn Rate. So if the
average spend per month is 150/-, the gross margin 70% and the churn rate 5%,
the LCV = (150 × 70%) / 5% = 2,100/- over 20 months.
LCV to CAC Ratio: When the cost of acquiring
a customer exceeds the ability to monetise that customer, the business model is
a failure. This ratio helps keep track of just that. If the LCV equals
the CAC,
its not worth it. When the LCV is 3 or 4 times the CAC its considered to be a
good & sustainable model. If its 5 times or more, the business should
explore the possibility of spending more on its research as well as sales and
marketing initiatives to acquire new customers.
LDA:
Legal Drinking Age is the minimum age at which a person is legally permitted to
consume alcoholic beverages. Some European countries permit drinking of alcohol
from childhood within their home while some Islamic countries and a few Indian
states do not permit it at all. Broadly, across most countries, legal drinking
age ranges between 18 and 21 years.
Lead time: The amount of time between placing an order
(with a vendor) and the receipt of his products and or services. Knowledge of
the lead time of each vendor helps plan out the ordering time-schedule, the
payment schedule and the overall management of inventory.
LIFO:
While Last-In, First-Out has accounting connotations, in the Restaurant
Business this method of human resource management may be used in the event of a
staff lay-off where the employee last hired (Last-in) would be the first to be
relieved (First-out).
Line Cook: A line cook is one responsible for looking
after a particular line or section of responsibilities in the kitchen. He may
be assigned the task of stocking up plates at the pick-up counter, cleaning the
cooking surfaces of his station, prepping sauces at the snack counter, or
cooking food at the grill section on a particular day. Some cooks stay in this
position through their career, while for others it is something they may choose
at the start of their career as a path to become all rounders by working each
section of the kitchen.
LOI / MOU: Letter of Intent / Memorandum of
Understanding is a document that outlines an agreement between two or more
parties. The extent to which this is legally binding depends on the wording as
well as the intention of the parties concerned. It serves as an interim “in
principle” arrangement before a final agreement / contract is signed.
Loss leader: A pricing strategy where a certain dish on
the menu is deliberately priced either equal to or lower than its actual cost,
thereby “losing” money for the organization. This is done with the intent of
“leading” customers to make other purchases within the business that will bring
in the profit; thus the name. For instance, a restaurant may offer a soft serve
ice cream at a throw away price, only to encourage its customers to spend more
on their other items... say their burgers for instance, which are profitable.
Loyalty Program: With a view to retain
valuable existing customers and encourage new ones to make frequent purchases,
a business creates a reward program through which it awards its guests bonus
points, gifts or special services for their patronage to encourage them to
continue spending more. The company running the program gains access to their
customers’ habits and preferences, and also some personal information about
their customers.
M&A:
Mergers & Acquisitions is a phrase used in the context of business strategy
where a business intending to grow, either combines with or buys out another
firm with a view to create a new entity that can better leverage the joint
strengths of both companies in the marketplace.
Main course: The chief course of a meal.
Maitre d’hôtel / Maitre d’: Meaning “Master of the
House” in French, is in charge of allocating guests their tables and servers
their dining areas each day. Being responsible for the overall dining
experience and complaints if any, this person often plays the role of a
de-facto restaurant manager and is thus considered to be a key to a
restaurant’s success.
Mark up: An amount added to the cost price of a
particular item to arrive at its selling price. This amount includes overheads
and profit.
Menu: A
menu is a statement of food and beverage items on offer, designed on the basis
of guest needs and organisational objectives. This French word implies
“particulars”. It had its origins in 1541 when Duke Henry of Brunswick was seen
referring to a long slip of paper that reflected the list of dishes to be
served. This enabled him to reserve his appetite accordingly.
Menu Engineering: Identifying the most and
the least popular & profitable dishes on the menu with a view to
eliminating or altering existing dishes and adding new ones, while holistically
considering their price and portion sizes to deliver better value to guests and
promoters.
Menu mix: The ratio of each item on the menu in
relation to the rest of the items on the menu in terms of its sales, popularity
and profit.
MEP:
Mechanical, Electrical and Plumbing is a sub-section of specialised engineers
within the architectural team that develop designs and drawings including
air-conditioning, ventilation, plumbing, fire protection systems,
telecommunication systems, power & lighting etc.
Michelin Star Restaurant: Michelin, a French tire
company launched its first guide book in 1900 to encourage road tripping, by
anonymously reviewing restaurants for their culinary excellence. Inspectors
across the world rate food at restaurants based on quality of products, mastery
of technique, mastery of flavours, personality of cuisine & level of
creativity, value for money and consistency of food throughout the menu &
through the year.
One Star: A very good restaurant in its category, offering cuisine
prepared to a consistently high standard. A good place to stop on your journey.
Two Star: Excellent cuisine in its category, skilfully crafted dishes
with specialities and wines of first class quality. Worth a detour.
Three Star Exceptional cuisine, distinctive dishes, precisely
executed using superlative ingredients. Often extremely expensive with
outstanding wines. Worth a special journey.
A Bib Gourmand Award signifies quality food at a value price. Most
other Michelin Star restaurants tend to be expensive.
Microbrewery: A space sometimes attached to a restaurant,
where high quality flavoured beer is produced in small quantities and sold
fresh usually without the addition of preservatives.
Minimum Guaranteed: May refer to (a) Minimum
Guaranteed Guests (Party Catering) – The minimum number of guests assured by
the host as chargeable by the restaurant for a particular event, or (b) Minimum
Guaranteed Rent – The minimum amount of rent assured to the landlord payable by
the restaurant as a base figure, over and above which the landlord may be
entitled to a percentage of the restaurant’s sale (usually net of taxes).
Minimum Wage: The lowest wage that an entrepreneur is
permitted to pay by law, as per the employee’s specific category (un-skilled,
semi-skilled, skilled worker). The government defines minimum wage amounts to
ensure that a basic standard of living by way of good health, comfort, dignity,
education and contingencies are provided for its citizens.
MIS:
Management Information Systems. Systems that capture the essence of management
controls through concise formats.
Mis en place: Literally translated “put in place”.
In the cooking area it refers to preparation of the kitchen for
cooking by ingredient processing as well as utensil and service-ware readiness.
In the dining area it refers to preparation of the restaurant for
service by table setting, service-ware cleaning as well as sideboard stacking.
Mis en scene: Literally translated “put in scene”. This
refers to the broader picture in area preparation. It includes mis en place as
well as general layout readiness.
Mixer (appliance): A device used to mix foods
or beverages in a kitchen / bar. Mixers may be either manual or electrical.
Mixer (drink): Non-alcoholic beverages
such as juices, sodas etc. that are mixed with alcoholic beverages to create
cocktails.
Mixology: The science and art of preparing mixed
drinks.
Molecular Gastronomy: A discipline of food
science where chefs utilise their culinary knowledge with an understanding of
physics & chemistry to innovatively and artistically transform the tastes
& textures of foods. This experimental style of cooking uses some specialised
ingredients, tools & techniques including pressure, temperature and food
chemical mixtures to create some extraordinary results including spheres,
vapours, foams and seemingly limitless other possibilities. Some prefer to
refer to it as “deconstructivist” or modernist cuisine.
Mood Board: A collection of images, text and object
samples that represents the proposed mood or feeling of a particular brand of
restaurant or other retail space. Designers use it to visually illustrate the
style they intend treating a certain space with, gathering feedback of others
in the team and gaining their concurrence.
MTD:
Month to Date is the period starting at the beginning of the current month and
ending at the current day. It is often used to see how the business is actually
faring up to the current day versus its budget for that period in terms of
sales, profits etc. for instance.
Mystery dining: An exercise in which a
restaurateur secretly hires the services of a professional to report on the
delivery of the restaurant’s brand experience to its guests with a view to
correct gaps that occur in this endeavour.
Napery: In reference to restaurant linen fabric
collectively including table cloths, runners, skirting of banquet-tables,
napkins, aprons etc.
NCNS: A
“No Call No Show” by an employee who goes on an unauthorized absence from work
without notifying his employer. When this happens often or for a significant
duration, a legal notice usually needs to be given and disciplinary action
taken.
NDA: A
Non-Disclosure Agreement is a legal contract between two or more parties
restricting them from sharing confidential or proprietary information shared
between them, with any other party.
Neighbourhood considerations: Refers to sensitivity
towards the residents of the neighbourhood in terms of disturbances such as
sound, light, smoke, parking, religious and other sentiments.
(Net) Working Capital: Short-term assets (Cash +
Accounts receivable + Inventory) less short-term liabilities (Accounts payable
+ Wages payable + Taxes payable).
No show: Either a guest who doesn’t show up after
making a table reservation or an employee who doesn’t show up at work.
Nuke it: Microwave a dish or an item required to
prepare a dish.
ODC/OPC: Outdoor Catering / Outdoor Party Catering
includes various social events from weddings to seminars, anniversaries to
picnics that are catered to outdoors. While outdoor usually indicates open air
spaces, it may also include enclosed spaces such as banquet halls where the
caterer creates a temporary kitchen at the venue where he serves his guests.
Opex:
Operating Expenditure is the ongoing cost of running a business including the
cost of materials, labour and overheads.
Organic Growth: A business plan which
involves core growth of a company internally by increasing its output through
expansion of its own existing customer base and also by introducing new
products or services.
Organoleptic Tests: A sensory evaluation of
food and beverages in areas including product colour, appearance, hand-feel,
mouth-feel, pliability, aroma, taste etc. usually conducted by a trained
professional or panel of judges.
OS&E: Operating Supplies & Equipment.
Smallware including cutlery, crockery, glassware, linen, silverware, bar tools,
kitchen tools, disposables etc.
Outlay: The expenditure proposed to be incurred on a
particular project or part thereof.
Outsourcing: Contracting some services to a third party
with a view to focus on its own core business, improve efficiency, save costs
etc. In the restaurant context for instance, services such as valet,
housekeeping, dessert preparation etc. are sometimes outsourced.
Pathogen: Microorganisms such as bacteria, virus,
fungi etc. that are infectious and disease causing.
Pax: A
hospitality industry term used interchangeably with “people”. So number of pax
is typically in reference to the number of guests at a restaurant, number of
customers at a party, number of occupants in a hotel, number of passengers in
an aircraft etc.
PDR: A
Private Dining Room is a space separate from the main dining area of a
restaurant, where exclusive small gatherings may be hosted.
Performance Appraisal: A systematic and periodic
review and evaluation of an employee’s work performance as against the goals
outlined for him in his existing role by his superiors. The criteria of
assessment may include job knowledge, productivity, initiative, adaptability,
leadership ability etc.
Pest: A
creature capable of directly or indirectly contaminating food therefore
detrimental to human health.
Pick-up counter: A counter in the kitchen
from which servers pick-up food items to be served to guests. One member of the
kitchen staff barks out the order for each table and as each item is prepared,
the kitchen staff deposit it on this table in readiness for a “pick-up” by the
servers.
Plating: Presenting food attractively on a plate,
platter or bowl to increase its appeal to restaurant guests is an art called
plating. It involves highlighting the key ingredient with support ingredients
while maintaining a balance of colours, textures, shapes, temperatures and
nutritional aspects. A white plate is considered by most as the best background
to present their food’s natural colours. Some find it aesthetically better to
plate an odd number of pieces rather than even on their plate. Many chefs
visualise a clock and have their favourite placement locations for each aspect
of the meal corresponding to the hour, for example protein between 9 and 11
o’clock, starch between 4 and 8 o’clock, vegetables between 1 and 3 o’clock.
Points / point system: Refers to the allocation
of predefined units for various levels of staff with an intention of equitable
distribution of tips.
POP:
Point of Purchase is a type of marketing material placed at locations where
purchase decisions are made. For instance, a tall menu tent card display at a
restaurant entrance or danglers hung above a food deli display counter.
Pop-Up Restaurant: A temporary restaurant
where a chef can test-launch his food or a restaurateur can test-launch his
concept in a brick & mortar format for just a few days or weeks with a live
audience. Also called supper clubs, these restaurants can operate from a home,
an existing restaurant during its non-peak hours, an event centre, a gallery, a
factory, or even a car, thereby limiting the capital expenditure and the liscensing
requirement. Patrons are usually informed of pop-up restaurants through social
media and often appreciate their creativity, variety and affordability.
Portion Control: The establishment of
standards in a restaurant for the weight, size and number of items in each dish
that the organisation will serve consistently regardless of when or by whom.
POS:
Point of Sale is the location at which sales transactions occur. While in a
restaurant this in-fact happens between the guest and the server at the table,
the computer terminals referred to as POS terminals, capture sales transactions
and print receipts at sideboards nearby.
PR:
Public Relations. Endeavours made by the entrepreneur to give a social image to
his establishment.
Prepping: The act of preparing the kitchen and dining
area of the restaurant for guests in the shift ahead.
Private equity: Money invested in
companies that haven’t gone public, i.e. those that are not listed on the stock
exchange.
Product Mix: The full range of products on offer (on the
menu).
Proof of Concept: Evidence that demonstrates
the feasibility of a particular business model or concept wins the confidence
of its investors. For instance, an entrepreneur who with his existing
restaurant can show proof of success in terms of consumer demand, return on
investment, profitability, operational efficiency, solidity in team etc. is
more likely to be funded to scale up his brand to multiple locations.
Push it: Sell it. A dish may need to be hard-sold at
times when it is nearing the end of its shelf-life or when money might be lost
by not selling the dish immediately.
QSR:
Quick Service Restaurants is the phrase now used for restaurants that were
earlier referred to as Fast Food Restaurants.
Quick & Dirty: A task where speed and
price are more important than quality.
R&D: Research & Development of new products,
services or processes in the business that can better fulfil market needs.
Ramekin: Fireproof dishes in which individual
portions of savoury or dessert items are both baked and served. A Ramekin is
also the name of a food made of cheese, egg and breadcrumbs prepared within a
ramekin dish.
Ramen Profitable: A business that is making
just about enough money for its promoters to make ends meet. This buys some
time for the business to continue surviving in the marketplace. Being Ramen
Profitable is not just good for the morale of the entrepreneur, but also
improves the promoter’s relationship with his investors. Popularised by Paul
Graham, this term is believed to be derived from the low-cost noodles called
Ramen.
Regulars: Guests who patronise a business frequently
enough to be rewarded or at-least more personally acknowledged than other
guests. Repeat patrons are a critical factor in the success of a restaurant
businesses.
Reserves: A company’s assets kept readily available as
cash / investments.
Rest room / area: Space allocated for staff
relaxation, changing of attire and grooming.
Restaurateur: The manager or owner of a restaurant.
RevPAR: Revenue Per Available Room is a measure of
the financial performance or health of a hotel. It is a function of room rates
(per night) and occupancy.
RevPAR = Total Net Room
Revenue† / Number of available rooms in the same period
† net of discounts & taxes, and not including revenue from meals.
RevPASH: Revenue Per Available Seat Hour is a measure
of the financial performance or health of a restaurant. It is a function of
seat revenue (per hour) and occupancy.
RevPASH = Total Net Food &
Beverage Revenue† / Number of available seats in the same period
† net of discounts & taxes.
Right of first refusal: A contractual right within
a business agreement, that allows one party the privilege of first exercising
or rejecting an option granted by the other party. For instance, a landlord may
grant his tenant the first right of refusal in extending their agreement beyond
the initially proposed period. Only if the tenant declines, the landlord may
put his property up for rent to an alternate tenant.
Robot-Coupe: A commercial food preparation equipment
manufacturer head-quartered in France. It is most renowned for its reliable,
patented heavy duty food processors through industry kitchens across the world.
ROI:
Return on Investment, is a measure of business performance that evaluates the
efficiency of gains from a particular investment.
Roll-up: Silverware wrapped in a napkin which may be
either linen or paper.
Roux:
Pronounced “Roo”, this is a mixture of equal parts of melted fat (butter or
vegetable oil or lard) and flour, cooked together as the base for the three
mother sauces of French classical cooking (béchamel, velouté & espagnole).
Roux is also used as a thickener for soups, stews and gravies. The extent to
which the roux is cooked contributes to the flavour and colour of the final
dish.
Runner: A food runner is a busboy / busser. A table
runner is a table accessory made of narrow fabric or paper used to drape a
table at a restaurant.
Running Order / On the Fly: Refers to an order that
needs to be served right away. This is either because the guest is getting
late, the rest of the guests at the table have been served, a guest needs to
leave urgently, a dish is inedible, or because the waiter has delayed or made a
mistake with an order that needs to be replaced / served urgently.
Russian Service: Food pre-cooked and
pre-portioned in the kitchen is brought to the table on platters and served
quickly and with formality from the left of a guest, usually at banquet
functions.
Salamander: An electric or gas powered oven with high
temperature overhead heating elements used to grill sandwiches, melt cheese,
brown baked dishes etc.
Same-Store Sales: A metric that measures
growth in restaurants / retail stores that have been doing business for more
than 12 months. From the 13th month onwards, the revenue and growth of the
restaurant can be compared to its own performance in the same period the
previous year. This can be done for a particular week, month or financial
quarter the previous year, and once the second year of being in business is
complete, you could compare the entire years sales to the previous years sales.
Sangria: Spanish drink made from sweet red wine,
pieces of fresh fruit like orange, lemon etc., and spices like cinnamon, cloves
etc.
Sanitizing: Cleaning or disinfecting surfaces that are
prone to harbouring bacteria and compromising the health or safety of
restaurant guests.
SBU:
Strategic Business Units are autonomous operational divisions within large
companies that have independent missions and objectives. They are small enough
to respond quickly to market situations and large enough to control most
factors influencing their long term performance.
SCM:
Supply Chain Management covers the management of inventory (either stored or in
transit) through each stage that the goods pass – right from the raw material
stage at the vendor’s premises until the point of consumption stage and
includes all the various work-in-progress stages in between. In the case of
food, it involves the management of inventory from farm to plate.
SEC:
Socio Economic Classification is the way marketers categorize their potential
customers on the basis of occupation and education of the chief wage earner of
a Household in India. This is based on a flawed assumption that higher education
always leads to higher income and therefore higher consumption potential. For
instance, a post graduate executive may indeed be likely to have a higher
income and therefore higher consumption potential, but in reality a trader /
retailer with almost no education may be earning and consuming more.
Server (computer): Main computer that stores
consolidated data accessed by other computers or POS units on the network.
Server (person): A waiter / waitress
serving the guest.
Service Charge: An additional charge for a
service for which there is already a basic fee. At a restaurant, it may involve
adding an additional percentage of the bill to the total bill, often in lieu of
tipping. It may also involve the restaurateur paying service tax to a
consultant for instance.
Service Tax: A tax levied to a service provider for
services rendered. Monies received for out of pocket expenses such as travel,
lodging etc. supported by documentary evidence that are borne by the client,
are not subject to service tax.
Sharking / Poaching (employees): When an entrepreneur or a
business head from one restaurant, persuades an employee from a competing
restaurant, to join them instead. Fellow restaurateurs often-times call for a
truce on poaching so as not to hurt one another’s businesses.
Sharking / Poaching (tables): When a server intercepts
guests being led to other tables and redirects them to his own tables for his
own gain.
Shelf life: The amount of time for which a food or other
perishable item may be kept on the shelf or served to a guest, without becoming
unsuitable for consumption or unsuitable for cooking. A fresh-cream cake for
example, may have a “best consumed by” number of hours on the label, after
which it’s intended form may begin to deteriorate such as the cream drying up,
souring etc.
Shorting: Like short-changing, a cashier may be
shorting a restaurant of money, a vendor may be shorting a restaurant of wares
or a guest shorting a restaurant of money due to the restaurant by way of the
check.
Sideboard / station: A pre-service setup area
in the dining room containing extra cutlery, crockery, glassware, linen,
accompaniments, water jugs, hot plates, POS system
etc.
Signature Dish: A recipe that epitomises
the distinctive style of cooking of a particular restaurant or a particular
chef by which that restaurant or chef may be identified.
Silver Service: A formal style of service
wherein food is transferred from a service dish to the guest’s plate from his
left using a service spoon and fork. Clearing of plates and serving of
beverages is done from the guest’s right. Further, guests seated at the table
are served clockwise, ladies first followed by the gentlemen and lastly the
host.
SLA:
Service Level Agreement is a contract between two parties that represents the
minimum performance criteria that a service provider promises to deliver to its
customer. It usually comprises of service provider deliverables including basic
measurable service level scheduled, problem handling, response time,
warranties, penalties payable against gaps in delivery etc. as well as customer
responsibilities.
Smorgasbord: Swedish for Open-faced Sandwich table, this
term refers loosely to a buffet of hors d’oeuvres, smoked & pickled fish,
hot and cold meats, cheeses, salads and relishes.
Soft Launch: A method of announcing the opening of a
restaurant to a limited audience with little fanfare. The intent is to first
get their buy-in, before making it available to the general public.
Sommelier: A French term for a wine steward who has
expertise in wine varieties, their procurement, storage and service. In
high-end restaurants, that offer such wine, a sommelier will help the
restaurant select its wines, work in conjunction with the chef to plan the
pairing of wines with food and accordingly recommend suitable options to
guests, as per their tastes and budgets.
SOP:
Standard Operating Procedures are a set of operational instructions (usually in
the form of a manual) with a view to ensure uniformity in the maintenance of
predetermined standards of performance and delivery of guest experience.
Sous Chef: Meaning under chef is the number two person
after the executive chef or head chef, in charge of the kitchen.
Speed Pourer: A device fitted at the mouth of a bottle
(usually liquor) to facilitate a speedy flow and accurate quantity of the drink
without spillage. Particularly useful during peak hours at a bar, the
bartender’s practised hand, times each pour to perfection sometimes sliding his
thumb or finger over the air-hole to control the pour.
Speed Rail: A bottle holder usually made of stainless
steel in easy reach of the bartender to facilitate speedy service to guests.
Based on the bar menu, the bartender keeps within it the most often used
bottles of spirits, other liquors and mixers.
Stand-alone restaurant: One that is independent of
supporting infrastructure such as may be available within a hotel – for example
stores, administrative offices, housekeeping etc.
Store-in-Store: The location of a
restaurant situated within another business such as a mall, theatre, casino,
airport, railway station etc., where the existing patrons of the larger
business are tapped as potential patrons of the restaurant. The success or
failure of the larger business often influences the destiny of the restaurant
and so restaurateurs sometimes try and sign up for such a location with an
entrance independent of the mall.
Succession Planning: The identification and
development of internal talent to meet the future goals of the company. It
prepares people for leadership roles in readiness to take charge when the need
arises.
Sunny side up: A style of fried egg with
only one side cooked, thereby leaving the yolk on top intact like a sun.
Sweat Equity: A shareholding in a company earned by an
individual’s effort rather than money invested by him in a partnership. In a
start-up, apart from co-founding partners who may hold shares by virtue of
their “sweat”, some employees may also be offered stock equity alongside a
basic salary which is usually lower than a salary that equals their market
value.
TA/TM: Target Audience / Target Market are specific
groups of customers that are targeted as your ideal guests in a start-up or
your preferred guests in an exiting restaurant business based on
characteristics such as age, gender, income, education, buying habits etc.
Table d’hôte: A fixed menu prepared in advance, offering
limited options at a set price and time.
Table Turns: The number of sittings per meal at each
table through the opening hours of the restaurant are known as table turns. To
ensure and improve profit in the restaurant business, table turns need to be
done, though without the guests feeling rushed. For instance, a fine dining
restaurant can have two table turns at dinner while a casual dining restaurant
with a shorter guest dining time may do three or more table turns.
Tableware: All table appointments in a restaurant
including cutlery, crockery, glassware, linen, cruet set, bud-vase, ashtray
etc.
Tasting Menu: A pre-fixed restaurant meal that offers a
variety of dishes served course-wise in small portions.
The Floor: Getting on to the floor means getting out of
a place of low activity like an office for instance, to an area where the
action is! While this mostly refers to areas where the customers are, it is
also used in context with back of the house areas of action like the kitchen.
Tips / Gratuity: Money left by the guest in
exchange for a service performed.
Top Line: Revenue / Sales / Turnover / Income which is
usually the top item of a profit & loss statement.
TTL:
“Through the line” refers to those sales & marketing techniques which
integrate both the ATL &
the BTL promotional
methods.
Udipi: A little town in Karnataka, India, whose
local cuisine was originally cooked at the Krishna Matt Temple in Udipi. Their
quick, clean and economical vegetarian meals, slowly made their way into the
hearts of many people in different parts of the country. Starting with their
own cuisine including idlis and dosas, they went on to create and offer their
own versions of Chinese food and also pizza which are quite popular amongst
Indians the world over. In the restaurant business, Udipi restaurants are
admired for their resourcefulness and innovation.
Up selling: A sales technique that involves the server
exposing the customer to options that are more expensive or more profitable for
the establishment.
UPS:
Uninterruptible Power Supply is a device that provides energy backup to the IT
system during electricity fluctuation or failure, thereby enabling the user to
save valuable data during a power failure.
Upside Sharing: Sharing the “upside” with
the landlord of a restaurant would mean that in a situation where sales exceeds
expectations projected by the restaurateur, he would be willing to share a
percentage of those increased sales with his landlord thereby putting both
sides in a win-win situation.
USP:
Unique Selling Proposition. The unusual factor that differentiates one product
/ service from another.
Valuation: Determining the worth of a company by
analysing the market value of its assets, its future prospective earnings, the
composition of its capital structure and the quality of the company’s
management. Valuation of a company is required during a merger or acquisition,
tax assessments, business analysis etc.
VAT:
Value Added Tax is a consumption tax levied at each stage of the production or
distribution of a product based on the value added to the product at that
stage.
Venture Capital: Money provided to a
company in its early stages in return for a share in equity. Though such
investment may be considered high risk:high reward, investors with sound
business acumen are usually able to identify high-potential businesses that are
scalable. Usually, venture capitalists invest after the proof of
concept stage.
VFM:
Value for Money. The fair amount a consumer perceives a particular product /
service to be worth.
Waitlist: A list of guests waiting to be seated at a
restaurant while it is full. The restaurant representative handling the seating
writes down the name of the host of each group in the order they arrive along
with the number of their guests. Then as the occupied tables clear up, she
allocates a table based on a first-come first-served basis and a match between
table size and group size based on the policy of the restaurant. While a
celebrity skipping this line rarely goes down well with other waiting guests, a
handicapped person skipping it is often more acceptable.
Walk-in (cooler/freezer): A refrigerated storage
room for food and beverage within which a person can actual walk-in and collect
his requirements.
Walk-in (guest): A guest who directly walks
into the restaurant without a prior reservation.
YTD:
Year to Date is the period starting at the beginning of the current year and
ending at the current day. It is often used to see how the business is actually
faring up to the current day versus its budget for that period in terms of
sales, profits etc. for instance.
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